Violetheart's Blog

How I should interpret this picture?

Posted on: May 10, 2010

The first time I see this picture, I think “It is an extraordinary graphical representation.” But next I start to have a deep look and a crazy idea cross my mind “It could be the artist’s imagination of a natural creation of another Venice? Or a natural creation of a river?” Why I said natural creation? I said this because if we look carefully the walls of the river, its have parts that looks like lava, and maybe the lava make the big crack in the street and it doesn’t destroy everything around it because the water cool off the lava before it keeps melting all the city.

I also ask myself “This picture is showing one of the possible happenings that can occur in the future caused by the Global Warming?” It could be possible because the Earth is getting warmer because the magma in the center of this planet is heating up. Maybe the purpose of this picture is to make conscience and the consideration of options to slow down the Global Warming.

I notice something contradictory in this picture, the crack in the street and all the stuff happening in that city is something to worried about it and the people in the picture are just fine. They doesn’t  look scare, running for their lives or hiding. Everything looks normal for them, they look like “nothing is happening, everything is fine”. One thing that shocked me, is the kid in the edge of the street throwing things to the river, without fear to fall down.What will be the purpose of the artist with this? Why if something bad is happening, the people look like they are acting normal? This painting is a way that the creator uses to make an indirect criticism? Maybe the painter is making a criticism with it. Looking this in the Global warming point of view I notice that the author is criticizing the people that doesn’t care this serious problem that affect all the World and that is getting worse everyday.

This is my interpretation  of this picture, but I wanted to know yours.

3 Responses to "How I should interpret this picture?"

As I look at the image I really understand what you are trying to say. Disastrous events can easily be avoided if humans unite themselves and work to make the world a better place; however, sadly, it’s not occuring. Sometimes, although I am not proud of saying this, it takes something bad to occur for humans to realize what’s at sake. A picture can truly say a thousand words.

I couldnt agree more on the global warming point of view, but in the other hand people are not realizing the point of view of distruction. I guess theire just enjoying more of a chalk drawing. This artist has lots of drawing like this one and their just brilliant.

I really like the picture and your interpretation. The first thing I notice of the picture is that the people seems to be fine without any concern. Maybe picture represents the fact that we are always taking care of our people and our needs without look the storms that may be are living the people around us.

Leave a comment


  • None
  • carlacolon: I really like the picture and your interpretation. The first thing I notice of the picture is that the people seems to be fine without any concern. Ma
  • ck126: I couldnt agree more on the global warming point of view, but in the other hand people are not realizing the point of view of distruction. I guess the
  • jmtv90: Incredible!!! Of all the places in the world I have always wanted to visit Austrlia, and when I tell people they quite can't understand something. I g

Categories